Our Early Years classes cover the 3-5 age range – Oaks (3-4 years) is our pre-school class and Reception (4-5 years) is the first class for statutory school age children. These all important years provide the building blocks for future learning.


Oaks (3-4 years)

At 3 to 4 years old our children are really developing their enthusiasm for learning. They follow a curriculum that includes a focus on early-literacy, phonics and early maths work. While the emphasis is still very much on learning through play, the children also embark on a more structured programme with Music, Modern Languages, PE and Swimming all forming part of their weekly timetable. We also have visiting teachers join us weekly to teach Forest School and Tennis to our pre-school class.

Payment via the Government Tax-free Child Care Account is accepted, and from the age of three children are eligible for the universal Early Years Funding scheme which provides funding for up to 15 hours of child care. For a full breakdown of our session times and costs, please look at our Fees page.


Reception (4-5 years)

Our 4-5 year olds continue to learn through their experiences, however their day becomes more structured with daily literacy and maths sessions. As the year progresses they extend their reading, writing and mathermatical skills.

Music, Modern Languages, PE and Swimming all form part of their weekly timetable and are taught by specialist teachers. We also have visiting teachers join us weekly to teach Forest School and Dance to our Reception class.

Underpinning all our learning is careful assessment and monitoring of progress. This continues from Nursery into Reception and allows staff to extend and scaffold learning when required.


Interactive Learning Diary (ILD)

Strong and effective dialogue between home and school is key to great outcomes for our children. We share your child’s learning and experiences with you using an online programme, Interactive Learning Diary (ILD). This programme enables us to create a bespoke Learning Journal for each child which is shared online with you. We encourage parents to contribute to that Learning Journal by uploading videos, photos and notes directly from your computer or via an app on your mobile device.



The statutory framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) provides the guidance and requirements supporting the learning and development of children in our care.  The Framework describes the stages for the development of children (from birth to 5 years of age) and how children’s health, well-being and safety are our priority within an environment that provides opportunities to allow them to reach their true potential.

The EYFS is made up of Three Prime Areas of Learning which are:

  • Communication & Language
  • Physical Development
  • Social and Emotional Development

and Four Specific Areas of Learning which are:

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The Prime Areas of Learning cover the knowledge and skills which are the foundation for children’s school readiness and future progress and which are applied and reinforced by the Specific Areas of Learning.  All of these areas of learning and development are important and are inter-connected.

01234 261864